K Drama

K-Drama Review: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo (역도요정 김복주)

Trailer:

Synopsis:

Kim Bok-Joo (Lee Sung-Kyung) is a promising collegiate female weightlifter. Her father runs a small chicken restaurant and her uncle wants to become an actor. She has a bright personality and strong sense of justice. Kim Bok-Joo and her friends on the female weightlifting team are not popular with the guys and they don’t have boyfriends. The weightlifting team and the rhythmic gymnastic team also don’t get along at all.

Meanwhile, Jung Joon-Hyung (Nam Joo-Hyuk) is a collegiate swimmer plagued with numerous false start disqualifications. He is 21-years-old and has a free spirit. His uncle and aunt raised him along with his cousin Jung Jae-Yi (Lee Jae-Yoon).

One day on campus, Kim Bok-Joo bumps into Jung Joon-Hyung while he is riding his bicycle. Her face looks familiar to Jung Joon-Hyung. After he leaves, Kim Bok-Joo picks up a handkerchief left behind by Jung Joon-Hyung. The handkerchief is very important to him and he begins looking for it.

Later, Kim Bok-Joo cleans and irons the handkerchief. She goes to the school’s swimming pool and gives back his handkerchief, but he explodes with anger when he sees that she cleaned it. Kim Bok-Joo then falls into the swimming pool and Jung Joon-Hyung jumps into the pool to save her. At that moment, Kim Bok-Joo and Jung Joon-Hyung realize where they have seen each other before. When they were both children, Kim Bok-Joo saved Jung Joon-Hyung’s life by catching him before he fell to the ground.

Kim Bok-Joo and Jung Joon-Hyung’s relationship now begins.

Plot: ★★★

I really loved this drama. It’s very light-hearted & silly. It kept me entertained & I felt like it was really well-paced. I never got bored at any points & I really enjoyed the humor in this drama. It has somewhat  of a typical storyline about a girl 7 her first love, but they made it funny & relatable that’s what made it work so well.

weightlifting-fairy_1560x872

Characters: ★★★★

I really loved the characters in this show. I got really attached to all of them. The thing that I love about this drama is they show the awkwardness of first love & all the characters did such a good job showing that. It also made the characters really relatable. I was sitting there like yep, I would be doing that if I was stuck in that situation. I really enjoyed this because then you feel a lot more connected to the characters because it’s something that you would do. You feel like you understand them.

Acting: ★★★★★

I’ve had the privilege of watching the majority of these actors in other dramas. I thought they did a perfect job. I wouldn’t add or take anything away. It was really nice to see Lee Sung Kyung in a main role as opposed to a side role. She’s normally the annoying, mean girl so to see her in this sweet role was such a breath of fresh air. I’m happy for you. Nam Joo Hyuk had me in stitches laughing, he was so cute and literal boyfriend goals. I’m impressed with these young actors & how well they’re doing so early on. Fighting!

weightlifting-fairy-kim-bok-joo-poster2

Feels/Romance: ★★★★★

This show did not disappoint in this area. It was SO cute. I loved it, the innocence of first love was definitely depicted in this drama & I loved that. Not only that there was still some very, deep emotional drama that takes place at different points in the drama and I also enjoyed that as well. It showed that even when you’re falling in love life can still happen.

Ending: ★★★★★

The ending of this drama made me SO happy. Honestly, couldn’t of been a better ending. I was clapping & squealing like the little fangirl that I am. I was very satisfied.

fea2-26-690x400

Overall Enjoyment:  ★★★★

Watch Now:

Viki | Dramafever | Dramafire | Kissasian

tumblr_o9bbqnbddg1r3ezvyo1_500

Alisha

One thought on “K-Drama Review: Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo (역도요정 김복주)

Leave a Reply

