K Drama

K-Drama Review: The Legend of the Blue Sea (푸른 바다의 전설)

Trailer:

Synopsis:

Sometime during August, 1598, newly appointed governor Dam Ryung (Lee Min-Ho) stays for a night at an inn run by Mr. Yang (Sung Dong-Il). During that evening, Mr. Yang shows Dam Ryung a captured mermaid named Sim Chung (Gianna Jun). Later that night, Dam Ryung releases her into the ocean and, before she swims away, Sim Chung reaches out her hand to Dam Ryung which he briefly holds.

In the present day, Joon-Jae (Lee Min-Ho) is a smooth talking conman with magician like abilities. He works with Nam-Doo (Lee Hee-Joon) and Tae-O (Shin Won-Ho). For their next score, Joon-Jae impersonates a prosecutor and swindles a large amount of money from a wealthy suspect’s mother. Joon-Jae then travels abroad and stays at an oceanside resort. Meanwhile, Sim Chung is swept up in a tidal wave and washed ashore near the oceanside resort. She sees Joon-Jae.

Plot: ★★★★★

So first off. I love mermaids & I also love Lee Min Ho so when I heard this drama was coming out it went to the top of my watch list. The plot is so detailed & I can honestly say that I loved every second of it. It was really well-paced & I really loved how they sprinkled this drama with comedy. I was giggling quite a lot. There’s something for everyone there’s romance, action, & suspense. It has everything you could want in a good drama.  Let’s not forget that they threw in a couple of plot twists that were just golden.

legend-of-the-blue-sea1

Characters: ★★★★★

I really liked all the characters in the show. Especially Sim Chung she brought a lot of comedy to the show, but what I really liked is with each character you see development. By the end of the drama the characters you had been introduced to at the beginning of the show had evolved a lot. I always enjoy when they have good character development in dramas.

Acting: ★★★★★

Acting was fantastic. I’ve seen a couple of the actors before & I was super impressed. A lot of the side characters like Joon Jae’s Mother & the antagonist are drama veterans I’ve seen them in A LOT of different dramas. Everyone did a fantastic job & you could really tell with the quality of the drama.

15123467_356444448022841_6525265499969007671_o

Feels/Romance: ★★★★★

There was a lot of feels in this show. They had a good balance of romance as well as family drama. The family drama was literally top notch. Listen to me when I say K Dramas know how to make evil mothers/step mothers. They take it to a whole other level. The family drama lead to a lot of emotional parts that added to the drama. I was not disappointed

Ending: ★★★★★

I was SO worried that this show wasn’t going to have a happy ending because we all know that stories involving mermaids are normally sad, but not with this show. I was happy with the ending. I’m glad that the dramas I’ve been watching I’ve been completely satisfied with.

the-legend-of-the-blue-sea-legend-of-the-blue-sea-pureun-badaeui-jeonseol-bxhahc4u

Overall Enjoyment: ★★★★★

Watch Now:

Viki | Dramafire | Kissasian

tumblr_o9bbqnbddg1r3ezvyo1_500

Alisha

Leave a Reply

